In the Kitchen: Depression Era Broth

I feel obligated to start by saying I’m not the girl that likes to be in the kitchen cooking. Yes, I’m often cooking as we rarely eat out but it’s not my thing per se. So I try keep our diet simple and nutritious.

Today as I was in the kitchen toiling it dawned on me to post some of my activities, ESP since I hadn’t blogged in a few days. I plan to drag this out 🙂

Anyway, Depression Era Broth. I don’t really call it that tho it reminds me of it. Why? Because it is made from the scraps of other cooking projects. Well at least those that do not make it to the chickens. As I’m cooking I save the ends or peelings of carrots, onions, bell peppers, celery, garlic etc. I keep them in a ziplock bag in freezer until I have amassed enough, which isn’t long, and then I dump them in the slower cooker on low for 10-12 hours. Strain and voila! Homemade broth.

Oh and I do out salt. You get the gist.
I do the same when I roast chicken.

20130213-143455.jpg

20130213-143503.jpg

4 thoughts on “In the Kitchen: Depression Era Broth

What Do You Think?

