3 verses

20130902-235614.jpg

There are 3 verses of the Holy Quran that have been on constant replay in my mind. 2/3 I know precisely where to find. But I wanted to blog about the 1☺. Of course that’s how it works right.
So in my journey to find that quote I got out my Holy Quran journal. Just a journal that I sporadically keep where I write down verses and what they mean to me. I don’t date (wish I did) entries I just do it randomly. Nonetheless I’m grateful for my meager attempt at journaling. So in my search, as I know it is somewhere in this journal. I got stuck on this verse. I started to skip over it and “stay focused” but then I decided not to with the recent celebration of 50th anniversary of the March on Washington for Jobs & justice Freedom.

Ch 16:90
Surely Allah enjoins justice and the doing of good (to others) and the giving to the kindred, and He forbids indecency and evil and rebellion. He admonishes you that you may be mindful.
My notes from verse read as such:
(I know some of this comes from the footnote)
Different degrees of goodness and evil. The LOWEST form of goodness is justice (wow). A higher degree of goodness is that which is “goodness proper.” It is doing of good in cases where man has received NO BENEFIT. The last stage of goodness is that which a man’s nature is so inclined to good that he has not to make an effort for doing good. He looks upon the whole of humanity as his kindred.
Stages of evil: 1. Violate self 2. Violate others 3. Violate masses

Where are you on this spectrum?

2 thoughts on “3 verses

  1. I believe most strive to be in that last stage of goodness. I look at “some” children and see in them that their true nature is just to do good and sometimes society or even parents change their nature. I’m also blown away that the lowest form of goodness is justice because that means we are living in a very wicked world right now. Justice seems to be something that is bought or handed down by luck. True justice is vanishing everyday in our world.

What Do You Think?

