A Little More Southern

We were recently blessed to take a trip further south. We made stops in Baton Rouge

20131024-230139.jpg
At a science center. It was kinda wack but our pass let us in for free.
New Orleans

20131024-230631.jpg
In front of the Mississippi River

20131024-230716.jpg
Beautiful artwork in French Quarter. We were all drawn to it.

20131024-231126.jpg
Just one of many.
This is where I’m singing Dollar Day aka Katrina Clap by Mos Def

20131024-231750.jpg
Black owned grocery store
Also supported a black owned gas station.
Then we headed over to Mobile, Al.

20131024-232003.jpg
We had a good time at science center before we headed up to Montgomery, Al.

20131024-232110.jpg
We got to see a cousin that I hadn’t seen since I was their age. Obviously it was their first time meeting her. She showed us a great time. We are grateful. We took a trolley around city and made stops at Rosa Parks museum, stop where she was arrested, and spot where slaves were auctioned.

20131024-232952.jpg
We also spent some time in Tuskegee for the 18th anniversary of the Million Man March. And explored the University.
It was a good trip and now we are back home trying to get back in the grove of things. I know I haven’t finished processing the trip. One thought I did have while driving home was that this trip definitely reminded me that I’m from Northern Cali. Similar to the feeling I got when I was in Ghana doing yard work with a machete….those callouses reminded me of how american I am. Or when in a “farmers'” market in London and an older black lady stopped me to confirm that I wasn’t from there. “You different. Your walk.” And she moved on.

For the record, last year at Alemany Farms in San Francisco, Ca I used a machete to do yard work. Was flooded with flAshbacks.

4 thoughts on “A Little More Southern

    • PbtA. Thanks sis T we also stopped by mosque in NOLA but I was super wack on the camera. Beautiful. And a lot of history. I need to add that to main blog. I literally just went off the few pictures I have in phone.

What Do You Think?

