Flair For the Dramatics

Flair For the Dramatics

I ate about a third of a piece of chocolate cake from the Cheese Cake Factory.
By the end my heart felt like it was racing. Initially, I wasn’t really trippin. I just jokingly mentioned to the children, they were shocked I even ate it. I mean, sparkling drinks are hard to swallow these days, so I really wasn’t tripping at first. However, about 5 min later I still felt it so my mind started to wonder was something wrong. (head down in shame) My first thought was of a diabetic coma. Ummm Erika you don’t even know what that is and YOU AIN”T GOT DIABETES. So I was going to do some self-diagnosing via the trusty google search engine. πŸ™‚ So i sit on my bed in front of the computer bout to get to it because my heart is “racing.” (ok Maybe not racing but it is feeling weird). I tell Mr. Paramedic and he brushes me off thinking I am overdoing it. At which point I subconsciously fall out throwing my hands up. (flair for the dramatics) Laughing but in disbelief as I say,”Robert!” Who then mockingly says, ” What, I’m going to just let you die hunh?” While slowly coming to appease me. He lovingly took my pulse while talking to me and said, “that my pulse was 68, I am the picture of health and ain’t nothing wrong with you.” He did refuse to break out his stethoscope.
It provided a great laugh and moment between us. But seriously, I had to get on google because I know what I was feeling. So this is what I found.
Heart palpitations are a feeling that your heart is beating too hard or too fast, skipping a beat, or fluttering. You may notice heart palpitations in your chest, throat, or neck.
Heart palpitations can be bothersome or frightening. They usually aren’t serious or harmful, though, and often go away on their own. Most of the time, they’re related to stress and anxiety or to consumption of stimulants such as caffeine, nicotine, or alcohol.
Some people experience palpitations after eating heavy meals that are rich in carbohydrates, sugar, or fat. Sometimes, eating foods with high levels of monosodium glutamate (MSG), nitrates, or sodium can bring them on.

So while it is nothing serious, Praise God!, i do know that i need to be mindful of my chocolate/sugar intake. I’m glad I already try not to eat much of either.

2 thoughts on “Flair For the Dramatics

  1. Dr. Google is my doctor most of the time! Glad you got a clean bill of health and that your body reacted to the sugary caffeinated treat so quickly! πŸ™‚

What Do You Think?

