Veni, Vidi, Vici

Currently reading Ender’s Game and am thoroughly enjoying it. Nonetheless the chapter “Veni,Vidi, Vici” came up. I was asked if I knew what it meant or if I had to look it up.
Reminded me that I knew it from a Latin class I took with the girls when they were younger. (Was flooded with memories good and bad). That year of Latin was very helpful. We should have stuck with it although I think I totally got more out of it than the children. We have since studied Latin & Greek roots since I recognize how it has helped me grasp English and Spanish better. I don’t think they have seen the real benefit yet, but God willing they will.

Sometimes it is nice to be reminded and then actually take the time to reflect on this journey we are on. There have been MANY twists and turns, detours and pit stops on this road labeled homeschooling and I’m glad it truly is a way of life so consequently the learning never stops.
Lol as I want to quote myself as I hear the children in their sarcastic voices quoting me:
“Your brain never takes a vacation.”
“You’re always learning, the question is what are you learning.”
“If you’re bored that means you’re boring.”
“You’re attitude determines your altitude”
“Learning is fun.”
I could go on and on. Just dawned on me. I guess they really are listening.

7 thoughts on “Veni, Vidi, Vici

  1. Keep up the good fight and the wonderful journey. I knew you’d like the book. You didn’t tell other part of your recognition of veni, vedi, vici 🙂

  2. Lol. I have good and bad memories of homeschooling. The good feel really good. The bad feels really BAD like Earth shattering BAD!!! lol. But, as I get older I reflect on some quotes from some really encouraging people:
    Husband “It is what it is, now do better”
    My Sister “Get a journal and write down what you could have done better”
    Sis. Erika “Don’t be so dramatic!. Make learning fun!”
    So I am making steps to invest in the good advise I am no longer to sensitive to except! All lessons are good lessons. Have a great week Sis. Erika!!

What Do You Think?

