Courage

the quality of mind or spirit that enables a person to face difficulty, danger, pain, etc., without fear; bravery.

I’ve been encouraging myself to be courageous a lot these days. “Have the courage Erika,” “just do it,” “it will be worth it in the ‘end.'” The “end”… Ok refocus. You know, all that good pep talk type stuff.

Today I had a whirlwind of emotions and I wanted to blog. But hey, nothing too personal Ya know. A lot of good self analysis which all lead me back to being courageous. Then I decided to look up the word to make sure what I was feeling was precisely what I was thinking or wanting to express.
Umm these definitions of courage suck ass are incomplete. Courage is not the same as being brave! Then I was left to word it for myself.
Being courageous to me means still doing something even if you are afraid. (Yea I hear you Muslims out there… Fear no one but ALLAH! I know. Working on that.)
It means that despite the consequences that you have thought out, in my case over thought, you still move forward. I think courage is more emotional.
Whereas bravery, in my opinion, comes more natural. It’s the physical stuff. Doesn’t require much thought. Reactionary.

Does that make sense?

Hmmmm
What say you?

6 thoughts on “Courage

  1. I think courage is the inner action – gathering strength for the journey so to speak – & bravery is the outer action. I hope everything settles well for you.

  2. Makes sense to me. One of my favorite quotes to this day is “If you feel no anxiety, the risks you are taking are not worthy of you.”

  3. I agree. I remember right before the birth of my last child (me knowing that he was ready to be born) I had been hiding under the covers, contracting, and I said to myself, out loud, “courage” and got up to push him out!!! It wasn’t bravery. It had to be mustered.

What Do You Think?

