The Journey Continues

It’s been 23 years in the making, 15 married.
I calculate the pre-marriage years. I admit, it was a long time in the making and kinda embarrassing in the sense of “it took you all that long to just do the damn thing.” Well yes. See when you are 16 (hurdle 1), want to go away for college and he doesn’t want to relocate (hurdle 2) and are afraid of staying home and becoming barefoot and pregnant (hurdle 3, yes if i stayed home we would have married) among all the other issues, I decided to wait a few years and I am beyond happy he waited for me. So while others only count our “legal” years I am well aware of the protection and support his love/my love/our love provided for me when it wasn’t “legal.” So I count those years. One of the best anniversaries was when he looked at me with a huge smile and said,”girl I’ve known you more than half your life.” I instantly wanted to say,”NO!” embedded I this denial is that I really do think I am still really young But I did the math, chuckled and hugged him. “Yes you have.”
But hey, right after I finished college we decided to make it happen and YEP, you guessed it…. Barefoot and pregnant.
πŸ‘«πŸ’ πŸ‘£πŸΌπŸ‘ͺ
And after all those years he has the ability to make me squeal
(I don’t feature him much on my blog but I think the link above is his favorite).

“Our Lord, let our spouses and children be a source of joy for us, and keep us in the forefront of the righteous.” Holy Quran 25:74

“Among His proofs is that He created for you spouses from among yourselves, in order to have tranquility and contentment with each other, and He placed in your hearts love and care towards your spouses. In this, there are sufficient proofs for people who think.” Holy Quran 30:21

Here’s some of my favorite pics of us (on my computer) and a few quotes to total 15 images.

IMG_6187IMG_6247 IMG_6254 IMG_1791 IMG_4947 IMG_5288IMG_7193 IMG_8707 IMG_9239 IMG_9538 IMG_9539 IMG_0203 IMG_0209 IMG_0228 IMG_0440

12 thoughts on “The Journey Continues

  1. What a gorgeous story you two have. And what a lovely sight for you daughter to witness–your excitement to see your husband, her father. It likely set a standard for her about what “love is” without her even realizing it. Nice to see this side of you too. Xx

  2. INSPIRATIONAL!! It’s so good to see you and brother Robert and the children again.You two been at i a long time πŸ˜‰ You always was a thinker and a doer Love you sis Erika.

  3. Lovely pictures of you both!
    Phil and I have been married nearly three years although we have been together almost fifteen! I am so glad we found each other.

What Do You Think?

